The region of Girona

[dt_divider style=”wide”/]

The region of Griona is made up of 8 counties, in turn nowadays comprising a total of 221 municipalities.

On one flank, the CerdanyaGarrotxa and Ripollès are the three counties in the Pirineu de Girona, where one can visit typical mountain towns and villages with medieval buildings, such as Besalú, Santa Pau, Beget, Ripoll, Camprodon, Sant Joan de les Abadesses, Molló and Queralbs. We should also mention the city of Olot itself, with its intense commercial and cultural life and a great place for bike tours in Girona.

On another flank, the Costa Brava includes the Alt Empordà, Baix Empordà, Gironès, Pla de l’Estanyand Selva counties. The diversity of landscape has shaped the different town typologies in this part of the region. Accordingly, one can find small nuclei with a charm of their own such as Peratallada, Peralada, Monells, Ullastret and Pals, seafaring towns such as El Port de la Selva, Palafrugell and Cadaqués,major tourist centres such as Roses, Empuriabrava, Blanes, Lloret de Mar, L’Estartit, Platja d’Aro, Sant Feliu de Guíxols and Palamós, and characteristic towns and cities such as La Bisbal (the pottery capital), Figueres (with its original and unique Dalí Museum) and Girona (with one of Europe’s most widely visited Jewish quarters).

All these municipalities, connected to each other by a good communications network, await you so as to show you their historical and cultural heritage and their cuisine and involve you in the activities that can be carried out in them.

+ source